MikeWest

By MikeWest

Storm Front Approaching

A weekend away from home, I found a park nearby with some nice trails through woodland and prairie and managed a walk around just as the winter storm was brewing. The snow came down pretty hard by the time I reached the car, but still an intrepid group were busy clearing rubbish and uprooting unwanted vegetation as an Earth Day enterprise.

My app forecast 5", then 6, finally settling on 3. Fortunately, there was not much accumulation in the end.

I had brought my Sony and used it handheld, paying attention to shutter speed as the light was somewhat limited. The higher shutter speed caught the snow flakes streaking across the image creating a soft muted veiled effect. I think the horizontal bands of the landscape suited a panoramic crop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.