A seat with a view (Widwed010519)

Our Upton House blipmeet went ahead today with Lozarithm, Hildasrose, JohnRH, Fitzbilly (groupshot & do not touch! in extras) and me.  
Rob (SHH) and Gill came along as non-blipping partners - though we live in hope of assimilating them yet :-)

We were extremely fortunate with the weather, dry, sunny and relatively still, such a difference to the day this blipmeet had been arranged for and then cancelled due to high wind speeds.   After an al fresco coffee & cake start,  we had plenty of opportunity to wander about the terraced gardens before touring the house.   It was so bright I managed to get several images with my two film cameras ... up to around 32 frames on each now :-)

As today's wide Wednesday theme is shapes I have chosen this view of one of the benches looking out onto the lawn, with part of the house in the background.  I liked the contrast between the sharp edges of the bench, the softer lines in the building and the softer still wisteria and clouds. I thought it looked better in monochrome too.

In the extra - almost the reverse,  a colour image from one of the garden borders.  I'll put in a second extra of the untouchable bookcase which we all found amusing - there was also a box of items visitors were welcome to touch :-)

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday.

Thanks also to all of you who have visited my journal over the past few days when I have been unable to return the compliment.  I would definitely recommend Chirk as a base for any blippers with an interest in history as within a few miles you will find much worth seeing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.