Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Mary Quant exhibition

“It is given to a fortunate few to be born at the right time, in the right place, with the right talents. In recent fashion there are three: Chanel, Dior, and Mary Quant.”
Ernestine Carter, fashion journalist

Mini skirts, hotpants, PVC raincoats, white boots, Peter Pan collars, the daisy logo, Vidal Sassoon bob, black and white shift dresses...all associated with Mary Quant, one of the most influential fashion designers of the 21st century who started a culture and fashion revolution in the 1950's in London. I still remember wearing yellow Mary Quant nail polish in the 1970's!

Today I visited the Mary Quant exhibition at the V&A. We started off with a one hour lecture about the exhibition and Mary Quant, which was fascinating. I feel that many of the outfits, although very distinctively 1960's, would not look amiss if worn today. My blip is of these fashionable young women at the exhibition, fashion from the 1960's versus fashion from the 2010's - not very different, I thought. 

After the exhibition my friend and I had a lovely lunch at the V&A cafe, which was followed by more chatting and coffees. I am feeling much better now and so was able to enjoy today very much.

Tonight I have my camera group meeting - my homework was on using flash in a creative way, like rear sync flash (my images that I submitted were not very good)

Tomorrow I am attending a bird of prey workshop organised by the RPS, I am looking forward to it. It is a very busy week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.