LifeinAlohaland

By LifeinAlohaland

Raining down on us

It was one of those days ... rain, rain and more rain! The photo shows the rainwater gushing down a chain from the roof. A clever device that directs the water. 

How easy it is to fall into the trap of wanting, expecting things to be as we want them, not as they are. And so easy too to focus on what we are missing instead of what we have. Here we are in beautiful Alohaland, which is giving us so much - maybe not what we were expecting (sun and fun on the beach) but so much else - and we forget about all that and feel annoyed about the rain. I read the other day, "We suffer so much for those things we are missing, and enjoy so little all that we have." Hmmm, let's reflect on that.

So I spent half the day working and did some reading, but felt irritated and a bit low. Tiziano roused me out of my lowly state by getting me to record another song, Wayfaring Stranger. At first I was even more depressed and feeling sorry for myself as I sounded awful (out of practice as we had not played and sung together for a couple of weeks) but with some exercises Tiziano got me to do and some letting go of my inhibitions we were actually very happy with the outcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.