Girls in the Woods

I love waking up in the woods!
We cycled up to the Nature Centre first thing this morning. It is amusing watching Mr K puffing away towing the Little Misses in their carriage while they shout "Put your back into it Daddy"!!! I can't imagine where they get it from.....
Miss E had a fine time running around in the mud, climbing trees, waving ridiculously large and dangerous branches, spotting squirrels, moorhens, rabbits, blue tits, coal tits, great tits and blackbirds. She also reckoned she saw a badger but I'm not convinced.
Miss L is a little lazier and a good bit less outdoorsy - she climbed this tree and then whined and cried to be carried the rest of the way!
Then it was back down to Starbucks then the pool for a repeat of yesterday's fun!
Miss E was delighted that we let her go down one of the flumes by herself. She was nowhere near not quite tall enough but I waited in the pool at the bottom just in case she needed help getting out. She didn't! She swam to the steps squealing "again, again, again!!!"
I managed to sneak away and go down the outside river rapids which was fun. There's something so great about being outside in freezing cold air and lovely warm water.
At 2pm I had my spa session which was marred slightly by the fact that when I'd gone to get my bike at 1.50pm to head for three hours of pampering and relaxation it was gone.
Yes my bike got nicked!
I had to eat my words to Mr K just this morning when he was stressing about locking the bikes and I said - a little snippily if I'm honest - "Why would anyone steal a bike? Everyone's got bikes. Why would someone come to Center Parcs to steal a bike?"
Well I stand corrected.
So I had to huff and puff to the spa on foot. Obviously I decided to deal with it afterwards rather than missing a minute of my glorious hours of freedom!
I tried to stop worrying about dealing with the bike as I went from steam room to sauna to tepidarium to water bed to steaming outdoor pool to foot spa to Turkish bath to meditation room and then back round them all again!
Bliss!
Annoyingly I had to leave at the correct time at 5pm because the bike centre shuts at 5.30pm. Otherwise I'm pretty sure I could have nodded off on the dreamy waterbeds reading The Help and listening to the ridiculously relaxing music.
The bike centre was closed when I got there. At 5.15pm, Grrrrrrrrr!!! But I knocked on the door and told the surly spotty twelve year old boy man that my bike had been stolen. He grunted "wait there" and reappeared a few minutes later with a new bike, grunted something else and then started locking the door.
I asked "Is that it?"
"Well all the computers are off so I can't do anything"
OK then!
I'd been all psyched up for a big row and having to protest my innocence and threatening to call the police if they were accusing me of stealing a bike!
The Little Misses were asleep by 8pm tonight so that was progress and we had more Baileys, French bread, pate and Stilton.

Day one of our holiday here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.