Almost High Tide

7.1C Wet and windy. Winds at approximately 25mph for most of the day.

Maeve the Deerhound and I did get out for our short morning walk in the dry. There were a few hours without rain early on.

After our morning visit to the Coop for our fresh croissant I drove along to Westhaven and parked in the little car park by the beach. I wanted to have a quick look and see how things were down at the Fishermen's Huts.

I could see along the beach more easily since the dune grasses are totally flattened, and the small dunes themselves in a poor state. I could see the owner of 'Shamara II' and his family working near the creel rack. I couldn't tell whether the structure has been destroyed by the high tides and winds or whether they were stacking the creels and gear further into the huts area, but the rack, which is built of scaffolding poles and strong timber, was certainly empty and looked damaged. I will explore further when the weather calms down. I did record the scene from where I was standing but didn't want to intrude and go along to take pictures as they may have lost gear and were having to work in the short lull in the rain.

I have posted a quick shot facing straight out to sea from the back of the beach. This is as high as the tide will come today.

Later there will be some other Saturday goodies.

I heard on radio and telly and twitter that Tesco are planning to fly Hercules transport planes into Shetland today and tomorrow to restock their Lerwick store. No ferries to Shetland until after Christmas. Cynical big business or, as they have said in their press release, using their scale of operation to put something back into the community I don't know. I am prepared to give them the benefit of the doubt and commend them for it, and hope the people of the Shetland Isles have a safe and happy Christmas. I am sure if the plane gets through the storm force winds forecast it will be very welcome.

Update: I have just seen a photo of the Hercules on the runway at Sumburgh (the main airport at the Southern tip of Shetland's mainland) courtesy of Twitter and Radio Scotland's Tom Morton :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.