Kipsie

By Kipsie

Uplifting upcycles

Ssssssssssssshhhh! Cassie is curled up in her bed asleep, Stan  is making little chuckly sounds in his sleep, & Lucy is'nt making a sound. Oh no! Cass has just woken up, oh no just re-snuggling. I think we're all exhausted today. Cassie & I had an early call, 5.50 I think it was this morning. Sun was just coming up over the hillside. Cass fed, my coffee made, & relax for half an hour. Too nice to stay in bed. Usual routine completed, Cass & I went up Church Lane, through the woods, & back around into the village. Bumped into Peter, correction, ANDREW the paper boy, well I say boy, I think he's in his early 70's. He told me this morning that he was thinking of giving up his paper round 50-60 houses per morning. He was going to treat himself to £4.50 cooked breakfast at Weatherspoon's in Teignmouth later. I was busy watching the first swallows picking up mud from around a feed trough in the paddock. Fascinating to watch, but too quick for me & my little camera to capture. Might try again tomorrow morning.
I went off to meet friends at Buckfast Abbey to carshare for our annual visit to Delamore Arts. A fabulous exhibition of sculpture & art set in beautifully maintained gardens, grounds, & house, including an exhibition by the South West Academy. Many of the plants, unusual, the grounds lending themselves to impressive vibrantly coloured rhododendrons & azaleas amongst others. The herbaceous plants little jewels too. I picked up a beauty, Darmera peltata, in the plant sale area before we entered the grounds. It went on my list of must haves after I photographed the plant in Cassiesmum's garden for TinyTuesday this week. £3 was an absolute bargain. There were only 3 and I was afraid they would be gone by the time we left.
Amazing sculptures in the grounds, some fabulous hanging fused glass pendants, blown glass flowers, & creatures made with upcyled materials. It really is an amazing exhibition, worth the £8 admission, which incidentally allows you to return within the month of May, the duration of the exhibition. Works priced from around £25 to £10,000. Worth a second visit if only to see other plants performing. I was spoiled for choice when it came to flowers today, newbies I'd never come across before to plants I'd had in previous gardens over the years and forgotten about. The list is growing LOL!!
But I've settled on these 3 small pieces by artist Linda Lovatt for my blip. She lives in Jedburgh which is a town in the Scottish Borders I believe so her work has travelled a way down to Devon. I like her use of vintage china fragments, old keys, cotton reels, & wire. A girl after my own heart. I love a bit of upcycling :)

I checked out the kinetic sculptures while I was there. Pretty impressive. Think I might settle for making a mobile.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.