Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Garden Chippie

I was just saying to Hubs the other day that I didn't think anyone had wintered in the burrow in our garden.  But today as I watched one of the chipmunks load up with safflower seeds (which they aren't supposed to like - haha), I realized that it was running into the garden right next to the house.  A little investigation turned up a cleverly hidden entry hole under the foliage.  So, what's a human to do?  I set up a small buffet table on a flat rock, and laid out a feast.  In return for which, I got some cute pics.  

The House Wren and his mate are hard at work on a nest in the box in my pollinator garden.  It looks like Missus was putting the woman's touch on it today, carrying soft material to line the twig nest.  I'll have a look tomorrow or Monday to see how far along the nest is.  Meanwhile, I think I heard a second male singing from somewhere nearby, so things may be about to get interesting.

Day 5 of 5 for me at the gym today - 3.5 miles on the treadmill.  And Hubs and his team-mates painted the race car today, so that's a big step forward.  

Dinner tonight is going to be tacos - just because I'm in the mood and haven't had them in quite a while.  We will wash them down with some nice Cotes du Rhone that I picked up on sale.  

Mom and Dad have started their journey east.  No idea when they will get here as they are stopping along the way.  It will be their final trip in the RV, so a bittersweet trip.

Happy Saturday.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.