Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

YeeHaw!!!

So, there I am in my hide this morning, listening to the drizzle hit the roof and smiling because I was dry.  I watched the bluebirds and the wrens working on their nests, and the other birds coming and going to the feeders and fruit.  And then...I spotted the dreaded House Sparrows.  Lurking around, looking nefarious.  I was on high alert lest the male try to evict the bluebirds (which can often be fatal for the bluebirds, sadly).

However, the sparrows had other ideas...yes, their thoughts were clearly on one thing and one thing only - sex!   She hunkered down on a branch and started fluttering her wings and chirping while he hovered over her, briefly landing over and over again on her back, supposedly doing "the deed".  After each dismount, he'd flutter over her head before landing for yet another go, all the while being encouraged by her.  Really, it was embarrassing.  Very unseemly, even.  And so darned funny that I very nearly sent some tea through my nose.

Two more shots from the sequence are HERE on Flickr - definitely worth a look if you want a chuckle.  I chose this particular shot because the male has fluffed himself up to the point where he appears double her size.  Quite the little go-getter.

The morning drizzle sent the humidity soaring so once the sun came out it felt rather steamy in the hide.  

Orioles and grosbeaks still around.  Catbirds and cardinals are already starting to build nests.  And my little House Wren has found himself a mate in record time and they are both chattering and spending lots of time at one of my boxes.  I also spotted him on top of the chickadee box and have seen no sign of the 'dees there, so not sure what is going on.  Watch and wait.  

Just booked flights for Hubs and I to go visit my parents first week of June - yay!!  Can't wait to see them.

Cheers...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.