Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

# 26 - the Female

It is not uncommon among neotropical migrants for the males to show up on breeding territory ahead of the females.  The males can precede the females by a day or two up to a week.  So, it was not surprising this afternoon when I saw both female Baltimore Orioles and a female Red-breasted Grosbeak making their way to the feeders/oranges.  If you look at my blip on Monday, you'll see the male male Grosbeak in his splendid courting clothes.  Other than shape, you'd not guess that he is related to this rather understated lady....she is designed for being invisible on the nest.  It was a bit of luck that I saw her fly into our shadbush tree - once she'd landed, I doubt I'd have been able to see her.  Eventually, she worked herself over to the suet feeder and had a nice long snack.

While Hubs and I were enjoying dinner on the deck, a female Baltimore Oriole swooped down for the orange halves I'd put out earlier today.  She was soon joined by her flashier male counterpart.  Hubs commented that he'd never guess they were the same species.  If she comes back around again tomorrow, I'l try to get a shot.  

Meanwhile, we have two male hummingbirds who've staked our garden and the epic chases have started.  Today, the two of them were directly over my head, chattering madly at each other as they performed aerial maneuvers.

I am not certain, but I believe our little House Wren may have already secured himself a female - I think I saw two of them in and out of one of the boxes this afternoon, amidst lots of songs and chatter.  Meanwhile, the bluebirds are STILL working on their nest in the garden.  See Extra for Madame bringing in some soft material to line the nest today.

The catbirds are also setting up territory, singing their odd little songs from several promising patches of shrubs.  And I saw a pair of cardinals working on a nest at the edge of our property this afternoon.  So much activity!

It was quite warm today and my allergies have kicked in, so a short nap was on the agenda this afternoon.  Allergies always knock me out.  Happily, I think the worst of the fatigue from the trip is over - usually takes me a couple of days before I feel right again.

Cheers
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.