Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gardening with Scoobie...

I enjoy pottering around in my garden, and even more so when in the company of a very cute, stripey rodent.  In fact, it was very easy to get completely distracted and forget all about the gardening.  Eventually, I got back to the task at hand, while Scoobie retired to his den to rearrange his nuts... hey, I don't make the news, I just report it.

Five grosbeaks in the yard today, including yesterday's pale male.  The House Wren continues to sing his little heart out trying to woo a female.  And, he's filled two boxes with sticks as a demonstration of his prowess.  Of course, once a female comes along, she'll have to redo most of what he's done.  Nature imitates life.  Again, I don't make the news, people.

Big news of the day - Madame Bluebird finally laid her first perfect blue egg this morning!  Hallelujah.  This may well have been the lengthiest nest-building period on record for these two.  Hopefully by the time I get back from FL, there will be a full clutch in the box and then we can start the countdown.  

Since I'm blipping early, I'm sure something amazing will show up in the yard.  And if it does, I'll be sure to put it in Extra.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.