Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oh, why not?

I know I just blipped a Rose-breasted Grosbeak a few days ago, but they are such lovely birds that I figured it was worth another go.  Besides, this male's breast is unusually pale, not something I've seen before in spring birds.  If you look closely, you can see signs of pin-feathers on his head so I am going to guess that he was hatched last year and is still molting into his first-year breeding plumage.  Doesn't explain the pale, small rose-breast, however.  Just an anomaly, I guess.  

I went out for a nice hike this morning and saw/heard a few season-firsts.  Also got gnawed on by mosquitoes which took some of the joy out of the morning.  However, it's always good to get out.  

After a quick lunch with Hubs, I dashed over to visit MIL who was in good spirits.  We tend to have the same conversations over and over again, as is normal with someone with dementia.  However, I try to spice it up by telling her stories about years gone by - she always seems to enjoy that.  Interestingly, she remembers my parents which is somewhat odd in that she hasn't seen them in over 5 years.  Anyway, good visit.

I went to a local farm and bought some bedding plants for the patio - an assortment of flowering annuals to add some color.  I got them all in the ground, too!  Also picked up some parsley - some for my patio and some that will go in the garden in the hopes of attracting Black Swallowtail butterflies to deposit eggs.  Also picked up a yellow echinacea for the new garden which I'll plant tomorrow.  

One more day until I head to FL and the fabulous rookery in St. Augustine - I can't wait!

Thanks for all the love on yesterday's oriole.  No signs of him today, so glad I grabbed the chance to blip him.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.