Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Orange....

Definitely one of my favorite colors of spring - orange. I knew that these beautiful orange members of the blackbird family were arriving in our area now and was hoping that I'd bet lucky enough to see some in our yard.  So, when I came home from errands and a visit with MIL and my Hubs said that there had been an "orange and black bird" eating oranges out back... well, my heart did a little leap.  A few minutes later, as we were sitting in the kitchen eating lunch, I looked out and this is what I saw.  Camera at hand, bursts fired through the kitchen window, blip in the bag.  For a prettier photo, taken outside later in the afternoon, click HERE.  I liked this because of the way he's sneaking up on the orange.  This is my 32nd yard bird to be blipped this year; and the 55th species I've actually seen in/from the yard.  

There were three Rose-breasted grosbeak in the yard, including this female - a bit drabber than her flashy mate, but still quite pretty.  House wren is singing all over the place, one of the female cardinals was seen gathering nesting materials and I'm pretty sure I saw a house finch fledgling on the cherry tree.  Earlier this morning, a group of Brown-headed Cowbirds showed up - five males and one female.  All of the males were putting on a big show while the female just seemed irritated.  She eventually flew off with all 5 males in hot pursuit.  

Hoping to get out for a hike tomorrow morning.  In the meantime, I'm sorting out what gear I want to take to FL with me this week.  The clothes are easy but the gear is always a dilemma.  

Thanks for your hearts and stars on P-Hummie's debut yesterday.  

xo
Debbi

Note:  While Hubs and I were eating dinner on the deck, my 56th yard bird made a brief appearance.  See Extra for the White-crowned Sparrow, a species we usually only have here during migration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.