Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Melt my heart...

I wasn't going to do it...no, I wasn't going to post yet another fox kit today.  And yet, here it is.  That face...well, it just melted my heart.

It has been yet another cold, drizzly day, unfit for man or beast.  When the rain finally gave way to a very light drizzle, I had to get out for a bit.  Didn't have much exciting to show for my efforts so went upstairs to put somethings together for tomorrow's trip...and when I glanced out the upstairs bathroom window...I saw them.  In my yard.  Playing and running and being just utterly adorable.  So I ran downstairs, grabbed a fleece, a hat and my camera and went into super-stealth mode.  I found a spot against some wet shrubs to crouch and before long, several of the smaller kits came along to play.  At one point they were within 20 feet of me and I scarcely dared to breath.  It was also at this point that I realized I didn't have an exit other than past the babies, and since I didn't know where Mama was, that didn't seem a good idea.  So I just stayed in place, getting wetter an colder and really not minding a bit.  

This image is cropped, although not all that much.  It is also lightened slightly because it was just a bit too dark.  I chose it simply because I like it - I like the eye contact, the quizzical expression on the little kit's face, the softness of the fur.  What beautiful little creatures they are.

I've posted five more shots on Flickr starting HERE with a kit - three kits, an orange-morph house finch and a bluejay close up.  

We are planning an early departure tomorrow. The drive is about 900 miles, so we'll probably stop somewhere tomorrow night before finishing the trip on Thursday.  The Tinies have whined, cajoled and stomped their tiny feet, insisting that I bring a delegation with me.  What was I to say?  There is a small group of Tinies sitting on my suitcase, all packed and ready to travel.  Intrepid little troopers.  

Thank you for continuing to indulge my fox-obsession.  I can pretty much promise that there won't be any fox for the next 5 or 6 days.  After that, no promises...

Toodles, people.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.