Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

I am smitten...

Well, here it is the 3rd of May and I am posting my 3rd hummingbird shot of the season. Usually by now I am just seeing my first male darting through the yard.  But this year, they've arrived early and at least two males have already set up territories, it would seem.  Today when I was out pottering in the garden, the sound of angry chittering would occasionally erupt, followed by a high-speed chase through the garden.  Meanwhile, the early female sat high in the trees, watching.  

I feel that I should give you fair warning...there are likely to be a LOT of hummer shots this year.  

In the continuing saga of A Tale of Two Kitties, the cats had a major standoff in the bedroom last night which involved them sitting about six feet from each other, growling and staring.  It lasted probably 10 minutes and we carefully didn't interfere.  Eventually, Phoebe stalked off.  A more "enthusiastic" scuffle broke out around 4 AM, also in our room which involved some screeching and yowling.  Gee, are we having fun yet?  Well, no blood has been shed and I really do feel they are slowly working it out between them.  If only Hubs and I can live through it!  A bit like having a baby, I suppose, being awakened at all odd hours.  

We are off to meet Charlie's other parents for dinner tonight.  Mike and Willie have raced together many times before, so I'm sure much of the dinner conversation will revolve around racing "war" stories...and tales of Charlie, of course!

I've posted two "Extra" shots (to the right), one of a curious blue jay and another hummer.

The forecast this week is for temps in the high 70's with low humidity.  The warblers are starting to arrive in our area in larger numbers now, soI plan to get out with my camera as much as possible.  

Thank you for all your lovely comments on Charlie.  He really is such a sweet boy and I am a bit in love with those golden eyes of his.  You'll be seeing more of him, too, this summer...and Phoebe, of course.

TTFN

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.