my daemon is calling

By kuchingboy

Fanatic pissed me off at a funeral

I attended a gay friend's funeral service today. It was a lovely reception and the tributes were very moving. I mourn the passing of a friend and an activist who did so much for the gay asian community. A message that was consistent in the remembrance was that my friend did not judge others and he accepted everyone unconditionally.

At the end of the reception I was given 2 CDs labelled "Hell is Real" and "The Battle is not Yours but God's" by a religious fanatic who attended the day's service. I was angry and shocked that someone would be so tactless and disrespectful. I thought about saying some unfriendly things and I was offended that this woman would pass judgment on me and my friends. She singled me and my perceived gay friends out to receive her CDs.

I will not judge her today, and I will not be duped into lashing back at her disruptive rhetoric. She does not have a message for me from any One or any Thing. I can only hear the truth that comes from love, tolerance, respect and equality for fellow human beings. What a waste of plastic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.