Negotiating the Stile

Today we drove high in to Wharfedale for the British Long Distance Orienteering Championships, based at Arncliffe and taking place on Kilnsey Moor. 

Tony and I had early starts so that he could man the drinks station for the longer courses and I could get back to take photographs.  The start was thirty minutes' walk uphill on the fellside and then our courses took us across the limestone and tussocky grass of the moor.  The route down to the assembly field you can see in my blip, was over this stile and back down the steep fellside and played havoc with my knees.  Not good news for the relay tomorrow!

After my run I had a bite of lunch and then retraced my steps up the hill to try and capture runners against the view.  Sadly the sky remained overcast but I think this one captures something of the magnificence of the dale and the fun of the event.

And shortly the processing of the 2000+ photos will stop as we enjoy the final episode of 'Line of Duty'.  There is no way that Hastings can be 'H'.....is there??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.