No Party For Cao Dong

I had an email this morning tipping me off about this lot. I'd planned to go and check them out anyway, because with a name like that, why would you not.

What I hadn't realised is they are MASSIVE in Taiwan and beyond. The South East Asian kids go wild for them and they did tonight in an absolutely rammed Brick Street venue. I'm so glad I bought new elbow sharpeners for this one as the old ones would not have been up to the job.

Even the soundcheck got screamed at. From the first chord the crowd was singing every word back at the band and bouncing all the way back to, well, the back of the room. I'll bet there were many people in here tonight who bought festival tickets just to see this band alone and probably didn't bother to hang around to see anyone else.

It was a decent set too, demonstrating, as with Wetter last night, that there is a credible psych / metal / rock thing going on in Asia if only you know where to look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.