The Future

That’s a bit of a grand title. But it’s an issue that’s been bugging me for a while.

I am in the process of trying to rationalise my CD collection, which currently stands at about 3,000. In recent years, a large percentage of them will have been bought at gigs and festivals. I don’t regret buying any of them (well, there may be a couple of mistakes).

On the other hand there are cds on the shelves bought 20 years ago that are unlikely to see the inside of a CD player anytime soon, at least not in this house.

Clearly, I can’t get rid of them at the moment, but even if I could, finding someone to take them, even for free, is proving tricky. I stopped deluding myself I’d get money for them ages ago.

The tension in my head is that I am keen to buy music at gigs. That way I know where the money is going. But I now have a bedroom floor stacked with the things.

Spotify is not the solution. Most bands I’ve seen recently will ask the audience to go check them out on YouTube or BandCamp or Spotify. I can only guess at the numbers who take them up, but I’ll bet it’s only a handful, if that.

Surely, there’s a middle ground.

I wonder whether the Lost Maps label on the Isle of Eigg have found the answer.

For £3 a month they will send you a handful of cool looking postcards, each with a download link to an EP, or occasionally an album from one of the bands they promote.

Clearly, they’re not putting on gigs at the moment (they promote all over the UK, not just on Eigg) and their bothy / recording studio is also out of action.

They needed to find another income stream. I’d also guess shipping out physical product would have been a logistical nightmare.

So, this idea is genius. It just seems to me to tick a lot of boxes. If you’ve paid money for it, then you’re going to go and search out the music.

So, here’s an idea for bands at gigs. Don’t sell CDs. Sell postcards, each one with a download code on it. Charge, £5, £10, whatever you think people will pay for your music.

It strikes me as a win. Less stuff to end up in landfill, taking up less space on my bedroom floor. But because I’ve paid money for it, then I am going to download or stream it.

For a minimal outlay you can sell, and I can buy, your music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.