Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Liberation Day.

A national holiday today in the Netherlands.
Liberation Day is celebrated each year on May the 5th to mark the end of the occupation by Nazi Germany during World War II. 74 years ago today.
A long time ago. But the fact it was only 25 years ago when I was born, makes me feel old in some way.


But anyways, we didn't do much today. We visited my parents in the afternoon.
Around the time we would go back home I received some imessages from Ron, asking me if I would like to go for a sunset. Weather circumstances looked promising. Although I had other plans for the evening, I decided to give it a go. It's been a (too) long time since Ron and I chased the Dutch light together.
We went home, had a quick easy-pizza-dinner and around 20.00pm I met Ron at a tiny parkingspace at a rapeseed field near Loppersum.


Great fun as always. The light wasn't what we'd hoped for, just only for a little while it looked colourful and nice. We did have a 'stoevertje' (a short rain shower) but we didn't mind that much. We aren't made of sugar. 
It felt nice to be out there, doing what I like most. Tomorrow it's back to the office. That doesn't feel exactly like Liberation Day....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.