Solace Day 10 - Sand Martins

On our way up the canal we had noticed the activity of sand martins at this section of wall. There were gaps which may once have held wooden beams for a waterside jetty. On our way back I suggested it as a place to moor nearby for the night. Not a sign of them last night! This morning, however the air was filled with them. Oh! How exciting it was to be amongst them, hearing them and seeing them swirling in the air.

A lovely day on the canal, BUT, we arrived at Atherstone too early. It was Sunday. Now I know that some big shops open earlier than 10am on a Sunday so you can load up your trolley, then the tills open at 10am. Not so this Co-operative. The doors didn't open until 10. I had an hour to sit around on a wall, but at least I got a coffee from the adjoining garage which WAS allowed to sell anything before 10.

In the ten years I've been blipping, I've never seen a sand martin, maybe I never have, until this trip. It just has to be my blip, even though I was to see something else wonderful tonight. I'll catch that again tomorrow morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.