Survival of the Fittest?

When we started clearing some of the clutter from the railway cutting, one of the reasons was to allow more light in and provide a few opportunities for wildlife photography.  We have probably done the majority of what is going to be done this year so I thought I should try putting out food and see who turned up.  I scattered a mix of suet pellets, dried mealworms and sunflower kernels in two or three places and set the camera on the tripod with a remote release and the retreated away from the action.  Not having much idea of who might go for what I had the camera pointed at the wrong place for much of the time.  These two images are among the good or acceptable ones. 

The starlings are sorting out a pecking order for some of the food I put into an old branch socket on an ash tree we use for one end of our washing line.  The young blackbird in the extra is on one of the cut off stumps.  For a first guess I'm very happy with the results - more to do yet in finding a camera position to improve the chance of eye contact.

I did see the woodpecker high up in one of the trees and we know there are blackcap and chiff chaff about so some more experimenting with food types might be the next step.

Thanks to everyone who has visited my journal recently - comments and stars all much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.