Tiny Tuesday . . . Monarch Caterpillar

The challenge this week is animal or anything alive.  This is my last monarch caterpillar.  Since January 31st I have raised 24 caterpillars to be butterflies.  There is one chrysalis hanging so potentially I will get to 26 as a total.  I didn't go all out and bring every egg inside to raise for fear of running out of food.  I now have a lot of swan plants/milkweed around the garden so next summer I will try to increase my total.  We have wasps that eat the caterpillars so it is necessary to help out so we can enjoy butterflies in the garden.
JMK has found a park in Christchurch where the butterflies over winter.  Monarch Butterflies
Thanks to Ninniex for hosting this month.
The forester is home tonight and I have to go back to being a good wife and cooking dinner.  There may even be desert.  I have had 10 days on my own while he has been away helping with his friends guiding/outfitting/hunting enterprise and duck shooting season started on Saturday.  This friend was diagnosed with brain cancer in June last year and we thought we would be saying goodbye to him.  He has done the best of all his oncologist's patients.  His face is very puffy from the steroids and he forgets the odd word but really he is still him.  He is not allowed to drive so the forester does that task.  They  have been friends since high school.  This is a journal for me as well as a photo site so I put this little milestone in here.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.