Goddess of Flight

This morning I drove somewhere for my blip.  I haven't done that for 44 days.  Instead of a straight to the supermarket and back drive I went sideways to the newly developed area behind the Saxton Velodrome.  I went here because my neighbours told me the Fiona Sutherland sculpture from the airport has been relocated there.   I can't find the blip I did about this statue being in storage along Rocks Rd.  I clearly remember seeing her behind a high mesh fence.  The airport got a new terminal and it was decided it didn't need art !  
A little lake area has been established with a wide footpath around it.  I think some of the plantings have suffered with the summer drought and the Goddess is looking rather exposed.  I'm sure it will fill in soon.  I put the blurb about the sculpture as an extra.  I think it is an evocative piece and I'm so glad it can be enjoyed again by the public.  There was a strong wind blowing adding to the atmosphere.   
P.S I found it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.