lynnjones7186

By lynnjones7186

Dessert

We once again enjoyed a wonderful chinese meal.  Following dinner we were tempted by the special dessert.  It was called King and Queen.  Durian is considered the King of fruit and Mangosteen the  Queen.  So our dessert consisted of durian ice cream with pandam sticky rice, mangosteens and coconut cream served in a durian skin.  Durian is a fruit I normally avoid, it smells awful, sickly sweet and the smell lingers.  Hence it is banned from many hotel rooms and public areas.  However, as ice cream it is lovely.  It was explained to us that durian makes the body hot and mangosteen cools it down.  Even in ice cream form I could feel the heat.  I still don't think I will be trying the actual fruit.  The chef who produces these desserts is an artist.

In other news my beautiful daughter has been awarded her Degree in Human Resources.  I just wish I could have been there with her.  The naughty girl didn't tell us.  We thought her course finished at the end of the year.   She is taking a break from studying before taking her masters.  We are so extremely proud of her.  

Still some pollution about but improving daily. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.