Kipsie

By Kipsie

Art installation on Plot 29b

Mrs Blackbird was already looking for breakfast when I got up at 5.40 this morning. She looked like she'd been out on the tiles all night, sitting on eggs certainly is'nt doing her any favours. I quickly crumbled some wholemeal bread , popped it out on the floor and she was back.
DPHT this morning and I'd promised the girls I'd bring in some more rainbow chard, so up to the allotment site after breakfast. This was virtually the last pickings before I pull up the plants as they are starting to bolt. Once I'd stripped the fresh leaves, and tatty ones from the plants I immediately thought of Chihuly's glass art. Not tiny,tiny, but tiny compared to the beautiful glass art so hopefully qualifies for Tiny Tuesday :)
The rainbow chard soon disappeared, Dru, Sue, Sandra, & Angie, volunteers, plus Michelle & Claire the staff accompanying the students from the school all got to take some home. A few of them had never eaten it before so a few ideas for cooking were discussed. Then it was time for me to go and show my face at George & Jean's. Managed 2 hours working on their garden before heading home.
A quick lunch then up the allotment to turn some more ground before the promised rain. Dug out a trench for the runner beans in readiness for some well rotted manure. Prepared the ground for my 3 blueberry bushes, just need to pick up some ericaceous compost tomorrow. It started spitting with rain as I was packing up to come home.
A friend of hubby's went out fishing from Teignmouth yesterday, obviously a successful trip as we got 4 beautiful , good sized Pollack fillets, so that was dinner sorted. 2 fillets went in the freezer for another day, a bit reluctant to do so as fish never tastes so good once frozen.
Back to George & Jeans bright & early tomorrow morning weather permitting. My fingers giving me a bit of gyp but I can't work on the allotment without my gloves so the strapping had to come off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.