NellieD

By NellieD

With brave wings she flies

Since the food bank I support has now re-opened in their fabulous new space, I went to Tesco's to do a 'big shop' with some of the money that has been donated over the last couple of months.  They always tell me what gaps they have in the cupboards so I ended up buy a rather random selection of 16 bottles of cooking oil, 12 jars of coffee, 38 tins of meat/fish, 5 bags of sugar and 24 toilet rolls!

I had intended to head back home straight after dropping it all off but ended up volunteering for 3 hours, one task being to show them how to use the laminating machine.  I was pleased that I've not yet forgotten all my PA skills!

The collage was a few of the things I saw at the food bank.  The cushion was embroidered by a supporter and reminds the women, who often have come to the food bank after fleeing domestic violence, to keep being brave. The huge vase of paper flowers were brought to the official opening by their celebrity ambassador and takes pride of place in reception.  The fact that they now have a huge garden space with a bug hotel and mud kitchen will give the children the chance to be outside and, just for a little while, let them forget what they've been through and 'be children'

Quote for today:
Only paper flowers are afraid of the rain.
- Mary Quant

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.