NellieD

By NellieD

Theatre in the round

Excuse the quality of the photo but the smoke machines had started and there was only a couple of minutes to go before the performance.

Choir went to see West Side Story tonight as it was the BSL translated performance.  We have 3 trainee interpreters at choir so they were very interested to see someone else at work.  I, on the other hand, was just pleased to recognise some of the signs.

I don't believe I've ever seen West Side Story before but I certainly recognised the music.  The voices, dancing and performance was great and the interpretation of the songs was beautiful.  It certainly adds a lot to the emotion of the song, even if you don't understand sign language.

We spoke to the interpreter after the show and he was explaining how difficult it had been for him as it was performed in a 'theatre in the round' which makes placement and role shifting really difficult in BSL.  It looked great to my uneducated eyes!

I jumped an absolute mile when a gun went off at the end of the show.  Everyone at book club is used to me jumping out of my skin at performances, I just forgot to warn choir!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.