lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

Cherry Creek Falls

I found another trail to explore today called Cherry Creek Falls, about 5 miles RT, not too far from that other park I went to last weekend. 

It was a lovely woodland walk and the falls were running probably as fast as they ever get (see 1st extra). When I got there, four other people were sitting on logs, enjoying the view. I was able to wait awhile and they all left so I had the little pool to myself. I got up and wandered around to the left side of the pool and noticed a little bird popping its head out of the bole of the fallen log, on the left in the photo. Then a few more - they were hanging around waiting for the people to leave. So I sat down and watched.

I believe it's an American Dipper and two babies. They live near water and even dive into it to hunt for insects and larvae. It was so fun to watch them for a bit. The second extra shows the mom and both babies.

Eventually, three young, hearty people arrived and I had this feeling that one of them at least was going to splash around and even try to climb that log. So, I pointed out the baby bird sitting in the nook and suggested that wouldn't it be nice if nobody disturbed the nest! :)  The girl in the trio thanked me for telling them because she said, "I was going to climb that log!"

I included the last extra because I liked the small view of the waterfall behind the baby bird, and how comfy she looked.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.