21,000 steps later

... and my FitBit is even prouder of us - another new record! Walked from our hotel across Sydney's city centre and then up the steps to walk the length of the Harbour Bridge and back. It had to be done and, despite the strong wind, it was an amazing experience. My classic, dare I say iconic, view of the Opera House and harbour, I've saved as an Extra, as I rather liked this pic of the Observatory with its bright yellow time ball, which we visited next.

Lunch afterwards and back downhill to wander around wonderful paintings in the New South Wales Art Gallery. (No wonder my legs ache!) The light and space in the gallery is superb, so made looking at the pictures a great experience. Lots of artists new to me, alongside many famous names. Then after that, we mooched around the delightful botanic gardens. All good stuff! Sydney is living up to its promise and we continue to be impressed by this lovely country.

In my blip yesterday (backblipped just now as yesterday I couldn't get online - do hope you'll have a peek), I mentioned the Writers' Walk, along the Circular Quay. Well, we returned today for a longer, closer inspection of the Opera House, so this time I'm quoting one of Sydney's sons, Clive James: "In Sydney Harbour ... the yachts will be racing on the crushed diamond water under a sky the texture of powdered sapphires. It would be churlish not to concede that the same abundance of natural blessings which gave us the energy to leave has every right to call us back." (Lump in throat!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.