LifeinAlohaland

By LifeinAlohaland

My favourite spot

I love walking along the beach, especially on a beautiful day like today. Tiziano slept in so I went for a walk on my own after my yoga. Just walking, thinking, dreaming, gazing over the beautiful water, and feeling very grateful.

I read a beautiful poem today by an American poet called W.S. Merton, called Thanks. It's too long to reproduce here, but I will copy something he wrote, commenting on the dark times in which we are living: 

"One cannot live only in despair and anger without eventually destroying the thing one is angry in defense of. The world is still here, and there are aspects of human life that are not purely destructive, and there is a need to pay attention to the things around us while they are still around us. And you know, in a way, if you don't pay that attention, the anger is just bitterness."

So true.

The rest of the day I spent working, a little time on the beach reading and swimming, my yoga class and some work after dinner. A simple life :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.