NellieD

By NellieD

Triptych

I took myself to the Manchester Jobs Fair today, nice to be in the Bridgewater Hall, but a waste of tram fare in terms of job opportunities.

About 6 of the stands were for fostering agencies, granted a very worthwhile vocation, but placing it at a job fair made it feel like it was all about the money you could earn as opposed to deciding to foster because you want to give a child a home.  Other than that, it was all working in care homes, call centres or nursing so not for me.  The guy at Bupa did suggest I could take an admin role and work my way back up to a PA position, but I think I'll wait!

At least I managed to get my blip in early!  The 'triptych' is of Sir John Barbirolli, an honorary freeman of the City and permanent conductor of the Halle Orchestra from 1943-1970.

On the way back to the tram, I called in an agency and after one hour - and two typing tests - she said she was very excited to represent me.  Turns out they tried to place a PA at the property company where I had my second interview and said I should see it as a huge positive that I got called back as he's notoriously difficult to please.  I wondered why 4 women in the office all laughed when I mentioned the company name, seems he messed them about a bit!

Quote for today:
In order to lead the orchestra, you must first turn your back to the crowd.
- Mike Mentzer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.