snailspace

By snailspace

Stickability

I had barely opened my eyelids this morning before Mr L enquired if I fancied a run out to Limoges. As I have been asking for a trip to Grand Frais for a couple of weeks now and meeting only refusal, I was not going to decline this particular opportunity, laundry or no laundry.

It was suggested that we visit both Grand Frais and Decathlon. Decathlon was mooted because I have been asking for new walking poles.

I have used my current poles for a long time. At one point I simply could not get about without them. Of late I have abandoned  them but recently declared that I should get them out again, not because I have need of them to aid mobility but because they take the strain off the lower joints, give an upper body workout and use more calories for a given walk than does walking without them. It really does feel like much harder work to use them but is worth the effort.

I tend to leave my poles at home because I like to take my camera out. I don't know if you have ever tried it but stopping, taking the loops off one's wrists and propping up the poles somewhere before being able to even unbag a camera - well, it's a pain and many a good shot has been lost that way. Now we have the added complexity of being unable to fit my poles into the tiny boot of the Batmobile. I desired new poles, such as the ones I have seen in use by French ramblers, that pack down to a smaller size and will fit into a rucksack when not needed for immediate use.

After much consideration, and after already selecting a pair for our shopping basket, we found these. They are brilliant - carbon fibre, light as a feather folding poles that will zip into a standard rucksack with ease. The others were returned to the shelf and we brought these home with us. I am trying not to think about the expense!

Also purchased: sockettes that won't bite at my sometimes-swollen ankles, two ultra small lightweight rucksacks, a cosy new "technical"  walking top for me and some French-approved swimwear for Mr L . He is very excited at the prospect of being allowed in to swim at the pool on the campsite that we are heading to shortly. His UK-style swim shorts have been forbidden everywhere that we have been to date so it was high time that he had some new trunks. Thankfully, they are not Budgie Smugglers. I loathe Speedos and hate to be subjected to beefy men swanning around a pool in tiny little lycra slips. Ugh, ugh, UGH!

Mr L very pleased with the smaller-sized cozzie and I am thrilled to be able to drag out my old one from the back of the wardrobe. The diet is working well for both of us.

Grand Frais was as fabulous as always and I truly wish that I could share that with you but they forbid the use of cameras in the store. Such a shame... the variety! the colours! They had wild Mangoes today and the smell was divine. One whole counter was given over to several varieties of strawberries, some peaches and nectarines. It was heavenly.

Today's haul included a beautiful piece of Smoked Haddock that is destined to sit atop some spinach tomorrow and be veiled in a rich and creamy cheesy sauce.  We bought some Babaganoush and I made Keto Rolls when we arrived home. The Babaganoush and the rolls, with some olives and a tomato and onion salad made for a fabulous meal. There is Burrata for another day and also lovely goodies such as Crayfish Tails.

I do love Grand Frais. Couldn't do it full justice today as I could only buy what can be used up before we go away, or can be taken with us.

The next few days are likely to be dedicated to food prep for our trip (that and the ironing). The following few Blips are likely to feature food, I am afraid - but the iron would be an even more boring Blip, wouldn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.