snailspace

By snailspace

Backblip 11 May: Flagging

Slept badly and woke all in a fug but it was so good to see drier weather that I upped and forced myself out on the morning dog walk. Left the camera at home in order to try out my new poles Not sure that I was entirely all there, to be honest... 

The day improved further and by the time that we had eaten (far too much) tea, the sub was shining and the rain clouds all but disappeared. I suggested that we go out and do the circuit again, in order to walk off our meal (Smoked Haddock with Cheese and Broccoli sauce and a side of Spinach).

We went clockwise this time and the change of direction together with the evening light made the landscape look very different. We reached the lake and I spotted that the flags were in flower. I have been waiting for them to bloom and was delighted to see them but... hang on... how come I hadn't noticed them on the morning's walk? I am normally highly observant.

As we picked our way through the mud and puddles I realised that my concentration in the morning must have been on the ground, if it was anywhere at all. But at least I got this second chance at them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.