Prodigal Son

I’m back!

Istanbul. Sultanahmet. The Terrace Guesthouse.

It is just a stopover until Sunday morning, but still. I don’t think I’m capable of just changing planes at the airport here. A night or two in the city is too good to miss. 

I have stayed in the Terrace many times, and love the familiarity, the friendly welcome and the cosy neighbourhood. I’m not sure I’m capable of staying anywhere else.

One big change has happened however. The city has a big new $12bn airport, 42km (26 miles) to the north. It opened this year, so today was my first experience of it. It is a long drive to the city centre, especially with Friday evening rush hour to contend with. 

On the other hand, passport control and baggage reclaim were a dream. Not an accusation ever made of the old airport. 

The Blip is the “Blue Mosque” (or more properly - Sultan Ahmet Camii). It is around the corner, literally. The dawn call to prayer is not something you can sleep through. 

Now, time to start thinking up a plan for tomorrow. Active? Lazy? 50-50?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.