Relaxation

It has been a wonderful day. Istanbul does that.

It turned out to be 50/50 as between lazing about and being active. Midmorning I wandered gently down the hill to Eminönü, where the Bosphorus meets the Golden Horn. At that point I was still unsure how the day would fill itself.

Eventually the lure of a wee ferry trip was too much and I jumped on the next one to Kadiköy on the Asian side, the plan being lunch in Asia after breakfast in Europe.

So it turned out. It was just a chicken döner, but that’s not the point. (For the avoidance of doubt, a chicken döner is quite unlike what folks have come to expect in Britain.)

It’s about £0.80 each way on the 15 minute vapur service. I suppose vapur translates as “steamer”. They look old fashioned, but that is part of their charm. You get amazing views of the city from that route.   

The Blip is the view from my vapur as it approached Kadiköy. The Extras are the view of Eminönü as it left Europe and the cabin I was in. People watching is great fun on those ferries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.