Caucasus

The adventure continues. 

Today’s episode was a flight from Istanbul to Tbilisi. It all went very smoothly. Well almost.

I suspect the Turkish Airlines cabin crew were new to the Tbilisi route. They were ambushed by the Georgians (and 6 Kazakhs) trying to throw as much free drink as possible down their necks in 2 hours. I saw a bottle of vodka heading aft at one stage. They had run out of wine by the time the food trolley got to my row.

A word of explanation is needed here. Flying with Turkish Airlines is a sheer joy after the European “budget” carriers. Your meal and all you can drink is included. It will be Turkish food, wine and beer, but I reckon that’s ideal. Even on a short haul 2 hour flight you have in flight entertainment on the seatback in front of you. 

A massive thunderstorm erupted as we (the Airbnb apartment owner’s dad and I) reached the city centre. In spite of all our girning about the weather, Scotland does not get rain like that. Fortunately it stopped just as my tummy was telling me “dinner time”.

Dinner was cheap, but superb. My massive kebab with home made French fries and two 0.5 litre beers came to less than £6. 

Just after the rain and just before it started to get dark I managed to Blip the statue of St George  & The Dragon on Tavisuplebis Moedani. I stuck a beer in Extras. Holiday fever. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.