Madurodam

Friday 10th May 2019

Sadly it was time to leave our wonderful chalet today and start the journey home. We were up and packed early so took a last minute gamble on the journey time and decided to stop off at the village of Madurodam en route. It was advertised as taking an hour to visit. Obviously that was without a camera! We did about 1hr 20mins but daren't take any longer. I think I could have spent best part of the day there!

Madurodam is a very small city, very small indeed - a model village. It is named after George Maduro who died in the second world war. His parents donated the start up capital as a living memory to their son and some of the profits are donated to assist projects for children to help make them better citizens. The models are 1:25 scale and are based on a lot of dutch landmarks. 

I was in my element, back in little people land. I was torn between photos that entered their world and photos that showed the park and its scale. The panoramic in the extras is a set of three pictures which photoshop merged into one for me as I had left my phone in the car. I realised today that some model village photos do need real people in to demonstrate scale. 

We spent longer there than intended and needed to get on with our journey. Unfortunately we got trapped in the car park as they hadn't opened the exit gates! We were lucky with traffic and, having stopped for a brief lunch, we made it to the channel tunnel just at the right time. It wasn't long before we were back in the UK and on our journey to Leeds ... that's Leeds in Kent unfortunately, not home. We'd booked into a hotel to break the journey. It was nice to go out for an evening meal tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.