An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Springtime in Scotland...

Blip meet continued :-))

After breakfast we set off to show Karen a bit of Scottish scenery, in particular a loch.

Planned route was Auchterarder to Crieff then through the Sma' Glen to Aberfeldy, lunch at the Watermill  then on to Kenmore and Loch Tay, returning back to the Sma' Glen via Glen Quaich.

When we reached Aberfeldy we were still too full from breakfast to contemplate lunch so we carried on to Kenmore instead.

When we got to the head of Loch Tay we could see a weather front moving towards us so I stayed in the car and Karen and David went for a wander.

From my position, I could hear a conversation between three men, two of whom were about to take a rowing boat onto the Loch and the third who was offering instruction.  They then headed to the boat and the instructor helped them set sail (see extra :-)  They seemed very happy to be heading off rowing on a very rainy loch.  They were certainly dressed for the weather so I am sure they had a wonderful time.  Great memories made.

Karen and David returned just as the rain started and we headed back along the opposite side of the River Tay, back to Aberfeldy.  By the time we got to the Watermill we were ready for our lunch.  Courgette and brie soup for Karen and David, baguette with chicken, pesto and rocket for me.  Delicious.

Back to the car and back to Kenmore then up the very narrow single track road of Glen Quaich.  We did meet a car coming towards us at a very steep part with no passing place in sight.  The driver pulled onto the verge expecting us to do the same but the verge on our side was very narrow with a sheer drop so I was not keen for D to attempt this.  We reversed (thank heavens for rear view cameras!) till we were able to pass each other safely.

When we reached the top of the climb and the road levelled out, the rain got heavier, turned to sleet and then snow!  We were suddenly driving through thick slush.  Thank heavens we still have the winter tyres on the car as grit lorries do not go through Glen Quaich.  Karen videoed the snow scene to send to her husband Alan, who had sent her a photo from home this morning showing deep blue skies and sunshine.  Wish you were here?  :-)

Sadly due to the mist and rain, the views were not as far reaching as I had hoped but it was still beautiful and atmospheric.

David is well used to me shouting stop when I see a possible blip so he coped well with having another blipper in the car, opening the window every few minutes and stopping to get out (see extra)  Told you it's not just me that does that D!  :-))

We got back home just after 5pm and after a rather large delicious glass of rose wine, Karen and I went upstairs to freshen up before David dropped us off at Delivinos where we continued our chatting and enjoyed a very delicious dinner.

Back home and Karen headed to bed to get a good sleep as she's joining David and Lola on their morning walk on the moor tomorrow.  Karen and Lola have become firm friends.  (see extra) 

I should be in bed but have been editing photos from today and now finally getting my blip uploaded.  Bed straight after this.

Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments, stars and hearts on my 3000th blip yesterday.  You brought a tear to my eye.  I'm sorry I've not had time to respond but I will do at the first opportunity xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.