An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Groundhog Day...

I woke up at 6.45am and couldn't get back to sleep.  It was lovely and bright outside so I decided to just get up and get the day started.  I am feeling much better apart from my cough but it would seem it is common to have a lingering cough after having this infection so I will just have to put up with it.

David phoned the vet to arrange for Lola to have the Kennel Cough vaccination.  I didn't really want her to have it but she's staying with R the dog walker for four days at the end of the month when D and I have a few days away, and the council regulations state that any dogs being kennelled or home boarding with a licensed family, must have KC vaccination.  We thought they would say to bring her in on Monday but they could see her at 11.30am so David gave her a quick walk and they headed off.

I made good use of my early rise and spent my morning clearing out my side of the chest of drawers in our bedroom, a long overdue task.  A very full black bin bag of items heading for the clothes bank.

David returned with Lola and apparently she was great at the Vet.  There's a dog creche there so she always gets excited as she can smell all the other dogs.  She was checked over before getting the vaccination (all good) and weighed.  She is 31.7kg which is perfect for her size.  David mentioned that she's been a bit off her food some days but the Vet explained that raw feeders can choose to have fasting days and are good at self regulating their food intake, so no need to worry unless she shows other signs of illness.

When they returned, David announced that since it was such a lovely day he fancied going to Broadslap for lunch.  That will be the second time this week for me!  We had a lovely lunch (Broadslap signature salad for David and Chunky vegetable and bacon soup for me.  Delicious.) 

This evening has been spent getting the beds ready and the table set for friends who are coming for dinner and staying over on Saturday night.  I have been trying to decide what to make for dinner as one of our friends is recovering from surgery for bowel cancer (thankfully tumour all removed) so I want to serve something light but tasty.  Looking to Delia, Jamie and Nigella for inspiration and I suspect M&S will be paid a visit at some point tomorrow.

Alan was also up and out early today with Ally.  They started off visiting Dobbies, then Glasgow, then ten pin bowling, then East Kilbride for shopping and cinema.  I believe he is now on his way home.  I'd say he's had an excellent day and one he could only dream about two years ago before his ileostomy surgery.  It has been life changing for him.  Oh, and he was weighted the other night and despite still being a big skinny malink, he is the heaviest he has ever been.  I am a happy mum :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.