FORTY WINKS

We'd just stocked up on carbs and cholesterol at the Farmer's Market then started on what was supposed to be a relaxed stroll round the Marina (past these two, and some of their pals) when Mum phoned to say she'd had another dizzy spell, wasn't feeling well and couldn't get hold of sister R or carer Mel (who doesn't work at weekends anyway). So we headed back home thinking I'd have to throw a few things in a bag and head south. Fortunately R phoned as I got home to say she'd picked up the messages and was going over and telling me not to set off. This is the second spell this week and the third in a month and we're all hoping it's not the Ménière's disease she had years ago coming back to make her life a misery. Since then I've spoken to Mel, and R and I think we might have to look at getting more comprehensive care for Mum (which she'll hate). Meanwhile I'm doing some deck-clearing to make sure I'm ready if called.

EDIT:  courtesy of the Silver Linings Department of Life. Apparently, by turning round and not getting as far as the Marina, we missed the Brexit Party bus and Nigel Farage who was putting in an appearance. That would have spoiled my day even more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.