Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Self supportive

Walking with others we passed by from an old little farmhouse where the owner came onto his front door for a chat with us. You can see that his front door is parted into two, what's common in the old farmhouse constructions and I loved this view so much I blipped it after I got his permission.

The tennant is holding his red farmer's hankie in his hand... really a relic of old times!  I don't remember having seen this use since 50 years, when visiting relatives of my dad, who were farmers themselves in NE of our country.

This man also reminded me of Crete as he's aged and all alone... No next of kin, no neighbours, hardly access to the local road some 100 mtrs further on and he'd come onto us for a chat and break in his solitude. It's the postman and supermarket-delivery-man that he usually sees ~ surely they keep track of his well being.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.