YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

At The Coast

Yesterday the Schoolyard Mams (the ladies who I stood chatting to in school yard for many years) had a day at the coast together.  We went to Tynemouth and looked at the market in the station and then went for  coffee and cake.  We followed that with a walk along the sea front and ended up in the Champagne Bar of the Spanish City followed by lunch in the restaurant.  A lovely day with nonstop chatter.

Our oldest children are almost 28 years now so most of us have been friends for 24 years now and we meet up every couple of months.  I am the social secretary being the only one who has retired.

I have blipped the Spanish City previously.  It was of course immortalised in the Dire Straits song Tunnel of Love.  Anyone who is from the North East of England has a soft spot for the Spanish City as it used to be among other things a funfair.  Great memories of going there when I was a child and teenager.  It fell into to disrepair and was closed for many years before recently being renovated.  I have enclosed an extra of the dome from the inside taken while I was having my meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.