But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

An Anachronism.

This is, apparently, the only thatched cottage in Bristol, built c1810 or c1820 depending on your source, it is situated on a main thoroughfare that passes through the local shopping area and not five minutes walk from The Old Lady's residence which was built c1970. It was originally the lodge to the extensive private estate, Henleaze Park, but is now in private ownership.

This link takes you to a couple of old photos showing it before the area was built up and later when it was being re-thatched (a rare occurrence since in all the years I've known it, I have never seen the thatch looking recently restored).

I intend to take a few more photos of it showing some details, and there are two other obvious view-points. Might even get a sunlit postcard shot.
I have some local history books back in Roslin that may shed more light on the history of both the park and the cottage.

ADDENDUM.
A little research has revealed that it was most likely built c1811.
It was re-thatched in 1958 having not been maintained for over a hundred years, and again in 1994. (Data sourced from "The Henleaze Book" published by The Henleaze Society.)
If you ever hear me say categorically that I remember something - then I'm LYING.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.