TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Plastic, plastic, everywhere

I finished my addiction to Farm Boy today. That is our local Canadian fruit & veg place. For months, longer actually, I have been undertaking a social media campaign to get them to reduce the plastic they use. 

"Oh yes, of course," they say. But they do nothing. Nothing at all. This is prime Canadian passive-aggressive lip service.

So screw them. Mrs. Ottawacker went shopping today and bought these. Corn on the cob... wrapped in plastic. Tomatoes, plastic. Berries, plastic. Cucumbers, plastic.

There is no need for it, none at all. So today, we made the conscious effort to never shop there again. I emailed the company and told them of this - and said that when they have made and implemented a decision to remove plastic from their stores, they could advertise and I would consider returning.

We have so little time, and so little power. This is one thing I can do.

I encourage anyone with any sort of social and environmental conscience to do something similar.

I'm sorry if I am being preachy... this just got on my nerves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.