Blackwater Black Mud

My plan was to call in at The Hythe in Maldon to buy an item handmade from rope and then to take Ollie dog for a walk at Heybridge Basin and to listen and look for cuckoos.

I had forgotten that it was the day of the Maldon Mud Race. No chance of nipping in and out. I decided to park up and stay to watch the race. A nice friendly couple asked me if I would like to join them on the wall near the finishing line. Ollie put her paws up on the wall and the woman asked if she was thirsty. It hadn't occurred to me. She poured some of her dog Meg's water into a bowl and Ollie drank it all. I was touched by the thoughtful gesture.

The weather was perfect for the race. The man who ended up naked when I watched it last time got his kit off again. It was amusing seeing all the outfits and surprising that lots of the women were wearing their false eyelashes.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.