West Worthing

This station does not win any stars in Simon Jenkins' best stations book  but I use it when visiting Mother so it deserves a Blip. I discovered it was built in 1889 to be the terminus of a new line to bring Midlanders to the South Coast  by-passing London,  which was never built. The station is postioned at the top of Grand Avenue, being the grandest road in West Worthing. It would have been a pleasant introduction to West Worthing for the holidaymakers from the Midlands. Felt  strong enough to walk to the station this morning instead of taking a taxi. It's just over a km. Although on Friday on my way down I had a 2.5km walk from the next station along when I couldn't open the doors of the train  -  too busy reading a Martin Beck novel and missed an annoucement about the train doors.  Felt very foolish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.