Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Camouflaged

I went back to the owl nest and found it occupied today.  If you can't tell who was in it from the first extra, it might be easier to make out in the second one.  I continued to walk around scanning the trees until I met a couple who had seen an owl on the other trail and they were kind enough to take me there.  This isn't the best shot because of the distance and the challenging light.  I couldn't use my better camera because of lens limitation so, once again, my lovely bridge camera got the shot.  When it says 247mm in the EXIF data, that means that it's zoomed out to a 1300mm equivalent (65x).   I was having a hard time holding it still!

We will soon be leaving for a Mother's Day dinner at Becky's.  It's been a gorgeous day and we should be able to sit outside and enjoy the evening.  I hope all the Blip moms have had a lovely day today!  And thanks to all who left comments and stars today.  I'll respond individually soon.

I am grateful for the 39 years I had with my wonderful mother who passed away 25 years ago on Mother's Day (May 8).  I still miss her every day. 

Edit:  I forgot to say that I don't know what happened to the nest.  I'm hoping that they may have already fledged or maybe they found another tree to nest in.  I've only been here a few times since January but I've never seen the nest occupied this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.