Debs_thats_me

By Debs_thats_me

Derelict Cottage

About 21kms south of Eketahuna going towards Masterton, is a tiny rural area called "Mount Bruce". When i was a young adult in the late 1990's, I worked at Mount Bruce Pioneer Museum. Mainly to milk Henry and Dorothy's cows, but occasionally to show people through the museum. Along the road on a neighbouring property, lies this derelict cottage that was built in the 1860s. I have driven past it about a million times in my life but today was the first time I've stopped to photograph it. I also rang Henry to ask if he could tell me more. He said "if you look through the window you can see newspaper dated the 1880s lining the walls. The floor has rotted away. The last family to live in it were the Preston's in 1905. Preston was the last Post Master (mailman) in Mount Bruce before the role was taken over by someone in Eketahuna." I then thanked Henry and wished him a good day :) 
This is also my second entry into derelict Sunday. A huge thank you 60plus for hosting derelict Sunday for a couple of weeks! :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.