Smethwick eye

Another really interesting morning today - 2 in a row!  

Off looking for sculptures again today, this time in West Bromwich and Smethwick.  I was amazed by the beauty of some of the old red brick buildings in West Bromwich - part of the town's past which needs some attention now.  The Town Hall was a lovely building.  We ended up going from the Market, to the Bus Station (Great portal there), past the exotic old Billiard Hall (now Wetherspoons), past the Library (Old red brick) and along to the Register Office with sculpture in the Memorial Garden at the front - a lovely peaceful oasis.  We moved on to the West Bromwich Albion ground where there is a sculpture of Tony "Bomber" Brown and gates dedicated to the memory of Jeff Astle.  Then onto Smethwick and a memorial to three young men killed in the 2011 Birmingham Riots.

My model in this shot was sitting on the bench which is part of the memorial and he was very interested in what I was doing and volunteered to be in the scene.  He was very interested in the Sculpture Project.  He was very keen that his bike should be in the shot too (See extras)

When I volunteered to be a photographer on this project I hoped it would show me places and objects I had never seen before and teach me things about the area.  I didn't expect the interaction with people it has stimulated too.  I am learning such a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.